Lady Gaga: A Reflection – DAY TWO

Good morning everyone! Welcome back to MikeyMix! As promised in yesterday’s post today I will be re-listening to Lady Gaga‘s second studio album ‘The Fame Monster’, as it is only four days until she takes the greatest stage in music and performs at the Super Bowl halftime show.

If you haven’t read yesterday’s post where I have reviewed her debut album ‘The Fame’ I will leave a link to it here.

So, without further ado let’s begin the review! This album is one of my favourite Gaga albums of all time and personally I believe it is one of the best albums that has ever been released.

One thing I love about this album is that we saw a new side of Gaga: a darker, twisted, almost satanic goddess had been awoken.

The album is a direct flip on ‘The Fame’ and chooses to tackle the darker side of fame and the music business. That being said it is highly known amongst fans and Gaga that each track represents one of Gaga‘s fears:

  1. Bad Romance: Fear of love (in particular loving someone so much that you don’t only tolerate their negative traits…you crave them).
  2. Alejandro: Fear of men.
  3. Monster: The realisation that Gaga may never find a relationship with a man whom she feels safe and secure with.
  4. So Happy I Could Die: Fear of alcohol and its consequences.
  5. Speechless: Fear of death: in particular the death of her father, Gaga penned this song for her father in a bid to persuade him to undergo lifesaving heart surgery.
  6. Dance in The Dark: Fear of being watched (some would argue it talks about how Gaga once had a fear of having sex with the lights on as her lover can see all her insecurities).
  7. Telephone: Fear of commitment (a common topic throughout the song is Gaga telling Beyoncé that she just wants to have fun)
  8. Teeth: Fear of the truth (but also highly argued that it is about the fear of performing oral sex).

Alike lots of Gaga‘s albums ‘The Fame Monster’ is an album that I cannot pick a favourite track from, that being said I’ll never forget the first time I saw the video for ‘Bad Romance’ and immediately thought “wow….this woman is amazing”. It was from that moment I became obsessed with all things Lady Gaga I suppose you could say that is when I became a little monster.

To summarise this album I will use a direct quote from Gaga that has been stuck in my mind for years:

“I want the deepest, darkest, sickest parts of you that you are afraid to share with anyone because I love you that much.”

-Lady Gaga

I have really enjoyed reviewing this album because it made me feel young again, it was this album that started my fascination in things that are a little weird and eccentric: conspiracies, the paranormal, performance art and of course LADY GAGA!

Be sure to come back tomorrow when I’ll be reviewing ‘Born This Way’, I’m really quite excited (but also anxious) to review this album because it was released at a time when I was quite quiet in high school and often misunderstood…so expect a deeper, meaningful blog post!

Until next time: stay safe, be happy and keep jamming!!




4 thoughts on “Lady Gaga: A Reflection – DAY TWO”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s