Lady Gaga: A Reflection – DAY THREE

Hello everyone! Thanks for visiting MikeyMix, for the past few days I’ve been playing Lady Gaga‘s studio albums in full and writing fresh reviews but also delving into some of my past memories of each of the eras.

As it is now the third day of the “Lady Gaga: A Reflection” series I will be discussing Gaga‘s third studio album ‘Born This Way’. If you haven’t read the first two instalments in the series I will add links to the posts on ‘The Fame’ and ‘The Fame Monster’

I have a feeling this post may be longer than my previous ones so I’ll include a read more link below, however if you do wish to come on this journey with me I invite you to dig out the prosthetic horns, shake the dust off the old denim and put your paws up as we are about to rediscover ‘Born This Way’.

It is a common misconception amongst the general public that ‘Born This Way’ was Gaga‘s  way of cashing in on her status in the LGBTQ community…this could not have been more wrong.

Although Gaga is a dominant character and activist within the LGBTQ community, ‘Born This Way’ as an album combines three themes to create a listening experience like no other. The themes of ‘Born This Way’ are: acceptance, self-love and origins (in particular Gaga‘s origins as many of the tracks are autobiographical).

“No matter gay, straight or bi, lesbian transgendered life I’m on the right track, baby I was born to survive”

-Lady Gaga

The 17 track album incorporates songs from a variety of genres: country, pop and rock but each pieces together to create a rock-opera which tells the story of one woman’s journey from darkness to light.

It is a beautiful story as it shows listeners that Gaga is tackling the issues she highlighted in ‘The Fame Monster’ but also accepting that some issues make a person stronger, I believe she says it better herself in the opening to the video of the titular track ‘Born This Way’ when Gaga says:

“And as she herself split into two, rotating in agony between two ultimate forces, the pendulum of choice began its dance. It seems easy, you imagine, to gravitate instantly and unwaveringly towards good…but she wondered….how can I protect something so perfect, without evil?”

-Lady Gaga (The Manifesto of Mother Monster)

As stated in my review on ‘The Fame Monster’, this album was released when I was in secondary school: at the time I was facing quite a bit of ridicule as I suffered with a bad dental problem and thus began to go quiet as my confidence wasn’t great.

I’d be lying if I said that this album offered some form of escape but what it did do is remind me that it’s okay to be a misfit, I would listen to these fast-paced tracks and remind myself of how great I was and how this chapter in my life is simply that….a chapter in a bigger book.

When this era ended I can honestly say that I was sad to see it go: I had gotten so used to waiting to see what Gaga did next, I looked forward to seeing new videos and performances but I can also say that I was even more excited to see what was next.

Before I forget I’m going to reveal my favourite tracks from this album, (in no particular order) my favourite’s are:

  • Marry the Night
  • Born This Way
  • Government Hooker
  • Judas
  • Hair
  • Schiebe
  • Blood Mary
  • Black Jesus + Amen Fashion
  • Bad Kids
  • Highway Unicorn (Road To Love)
  • Heavy Metal Lover
  • Electric Chapel
  • The Queen

(I know that I’ve basically listed the majority of the track list but until you’ve listened to this amazing album in full you don’t realise how hard it is to pick favourites)

This album has always been a great influence to me and without me knowing introduced me to a wider range of pop-culture: Gaga often adopted symbolism from two of the greatest directors of all time Stanley Kubrick and Alfred Hitchcock.

The dark, gothic vibes of the album provided me with inspiration for a number of dramatic pieces (back when I was heavily involved in dramatic arts).

But most importantly, the album inspired me to become more open-minded and accepting of others and taught me of the power of a positive attitude, the power of positivity is something that I still believe in to this day.

I understand this post was a long one but if you’re still reading this then I hope you enjoyed it as I certainly enjoyed writing it and remembering a point of my life when things felt awful.

Thankfully now I can look back and smile at how far I’ve come.

Until next time: stay safe, be happy and keep those paws up forever!

-Mikey

(#MonsterForLife)

3 thoughts on “Lady Gaga: A Reflection – DAY THREE”

Leave a Reply

