Lady Gaga: A Reflection – Day Four

Hello readers, welcome back to MikeyMix! We are now on the penultimate blog post of the “Lady Gaga: A Reflection” series and this of course means we will be discussing ‘ARTPOP’, Gaga‘s fourth studio album.

Alike previously if you’re yet to read my previous blog posts I’ll link them here: ‘The Fame’, ‘The Fame Monster’ and ‘Born This Way’.

Many critics would argue that this is Gaga‘s weakest album and although it didn’t do well in the charts I have to admit that I loved it. When I had the privilege of seeing Gaga perform live in Manchester as part of her ‘artRAVE: The ARTPOP Ball’ tour I felt amazing to discover that Gaga “felt a special bond with those who liked ARTPOP”.

The highly electronic album was released in 2013 and although the songs were heavy the music was deep: fans were once again being shown a deeper, vulnerable side to Gaga. The album opener ‘Aura’ represents Gaga removing all the makeup, wigs and eccentric costumes and re-introducing us to Stefani, the girl with a dream.

One thing I remember most about this era is how long the wait for the album was: of course this was due to Gaga taking some time off from music due to undergoing a hip replacement.

But when it was finally released I couldn’t stop listening to it in full! This album will always hold a special place in my heart as it was this era that I finally began to show people (other than a select few) that I was a devote little monster.

Before the release of ‘ARTPOP’ only a few of my friends knew of the intensity of my obsession with Gaga, upon hearing ‘Aura’ (when it leaked in summer) I finally felt ready to let the world know that the artist some consider a “freak” was my idol (some would say that this is a really small thing but for me it was big).

My favourite tracks on ‘ARTPOP’ are (in no particular order) as follows:

  • Aura
  • Venus
  • G.U.Y. (Girl Under You)
  • Sexxx Dreams
  • MANiCURE
  • ARTPOP
  • Donatella
  • Mary Jane Holland
  • Gypsy
  • Applause

Ending note: My wish for ‘ARTPOP’ is that it one day receives the recognition it deserves, what many don’t know is that during the ‘ARTPOP’ era Gaga was abandoned by her manager and almost quit music.

What confuses me most of all though is how two to three years after it’s release the themes that ‘ARTPOP’ possessed (the art of rebellion within the music industry) were suddenly in style: I would even go as far to say that Justin Bieber‘s ‘Purpose’ album could be considered his version of ‘ARTPOP’.

Until next time: stay safe, be happy and keep jamming!

-Mikey

(#MonsterForLife)

2 thoughts on “Lady Gaga: A Reflection – Day Four”

Leave a Reply

