Tove Lo: “Lies in The Dark” – REVIEW

Hello again readers, welcome back to MikeyMix! This afternoon I am bringing you another track review! This time we will be discussing the track ‘Lies in The Dark’ by one of my new favourite artists Tove Lo.

Alike my last review, a review on Halsey‘s new song ‘Not Afraid Anymore’ (a link to that review can be found here), ‘Lies in The Dark’ was penned for the soundtrack of the new film ‘Fifty Shades Darker’.

I enjoyed listening to this track because it had an element of familiarity: throughout my first listen I was immediately reminded of Tove Lo‘s latest studio album ‘Lady Wood’ (in particular the song ‘Cool Girl’).

One thing that stuck out to me the most though was that the line:

“Over, over, and again. Over (aah) and again. Over, over, and again”

Sounds a lot like the chorus from ‘Cool Girl’:

“I’m a, I’m a. I’m a cool girl, I’m a, I’m a cool girl”

Comparisons aside I did enjoy this track and played it on repeat several times, that being said it isn’t my favourite song Tove Lo has released and as much as it pains me to say it I don’t think audiences are going to think of this track when they think of the soundtrack.

I will be giving this track a 2.5 out of 5 star rating as I think Tove Lo was quite lazy with this track and played it far too safe, she can do better.

Until next time: stay safe, be happy and keep on jamming!!

-Mikey

HEADER IMAGE PROVIDED BY ‘CHUFF MEDIA’ (REGIONAL TOURING PR TEAM), PHOTO HAS BEEN PRE-APPROVED FOR USE BY THE PRESS.

3 thoughts on “Tove Lo: “Lies in The Dark” – REVIEW”

    1. Hi Andrew! Thanks for your comment: if you’re planning on starting to listen to Tove Lo then I would definitely recommend starting with her latest studio album “Lady Wood”. The album as a whole is only 39 minutes so it’s a great easy listen but to truly get a feel for it i’d recommend listening to (my personal favourites): “Influence”, “True Disaster”, “Lady Wood”, “Cool Girl” and “Imaginary Friend”. Do let me know what you think of her stuff if you get the chance to have a listen 😀
      -Mikey

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

