Mikey Wax: “Helium” – REVIEW

Good afternoon readers, welcome to MikeyMix! For today’s blog post I will be reviewing the newest track from a new and upcoming artist Mikey Wax.

‘Helium’, which was released on on September 2 2016, is the latest single from Wax. This is the first song that I have heard from Wax and (if all of his other releases are anything like this) I can just tell I’m going to be a big fan.

From the moment the 3 minute 12 second track begins I am given some serious Eliza and The Bear vibes (in particular their song ‘Where Have You Been’ or ‘It Get’s Cold’), if I had to describe the sound I would have to say: Mumford and Sons meets Coldplay with a little bit of Olly Murs thrown in (for good measure).

The simplistic, repetitive lyrics combined with the pop-country instrumental mean that the song is an easy listen: I can easily see myself listening to this on summer on a hot day as the track definitely has the potential to be a summer hit in the indie world.

I will be giving this track 3 out of 5 stars and I will definitely be giving Wax‘s older works a listen and it’s safe to say I am excited to see what 2017 brings for him (I am expecting great things).

‘Helium’ is available for purchase on iTunes and on all streaming platforms: Apple Music, Spotify and Tidal.

Until next time: stay safe, be happy and keep on jamming!!

-Mikey

HEADER PHOTO RETRIEVED VIA CREATIVECOMMONS, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED FOR THE RIGHTFUL OWNERS.

Leave a Reply

