Bart Baker: “Celebritease” – REVIEW

Good evening readers, welcome back to MikeyMix! I understand it’s been a couple of days since my last blog post and for that I am sorry (university assignments have taken up a lot of my time these past few weeks).

Minor absence aside lets begin the review! Tonight’s review will be on the album ‘Celebritease’ by YouTube parody artist and musician Bart Baker.

The album which was released today (March 1st) consists of 8 tracks all of which reference a celebrity in some way or another.

The track listing is as follows:

  1. Taylor Swift
  2. Calvin Harris
  3. Kimye
  4. Justin Bieber
  5. Ariana Grande
  6. Drake
  7. Future
  8. #DWBD (Don’t Worry Bout Dat)

Baker provides all the vocals for the tracks and the album definitely stays true to his style: parody and comical.

I would definitely consider this album a form of parody/satire as throughout Baker shades (makes fun of, disrespects, jokes about) the artists: whether it be via lyrics or imitating their generic style.

My favourite track from this album has got to be either the tracks ‘Ariana Grande’ or ‘Calvin Harris’ but that is only because I like the beats of both tracks (the lyrics aren’t very smart and definitely not worth praising).

Overall thoughts: I am not the biggest fan of this album, I had low expectations (I’m never usually the biggest fan of YouTuber projects) and I was still quite disappointed.

I have been a big fan of Baker‘s parodies for many years and so I expected more from him as I know he can do much better.

I will be giving this album a 1 out of 5 star rating.

‘Celebritease’ is available to buy on iTunes and available for streaming on all streaming sites: Apple Music, Spotify and Tidal.

Until next time: stay safe, be happy and keep on smiling!!

-Mikey

HEADER IMAGE PROVIDED BY ‘CREATIVECOMMONS’ ALL RIGHTS RESERVED FOR THE RIGHTFUL OWNERS, NO COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT INTENDED.

Leave a Reply

