Charli XCX – “Number 1 Angel” – REVIEW

Good afternoon readers! Welcome back to MikeyMix, earlier this morning alternative-pop princess Charli XCX released her third studio album (or mixtape as it has been advertised) ‘Number 1 Angel’.

This is XCX‘s first release of 2017 following the release of her 2016 single ‘After The Party’ and her 2016 EP ‘Vroom Vroom’.

I feel like the ‘Vroom Vroom’ EP was a teaser of XCX‘s new sound as this album definitely gives me some ‘Vroom Vroom’ vibes.

The ten track album sounds fresh yet familiar and XCX has opted to collaborate with fellow alternative artists on a number of tracks.

The track listing for the project is as follows:

  1. Dreamer [feat. Starrah & RAYE]
  2. 3AM (Pull Up) [feat. MØ]
  3. Blame It On You
  4. Roll With Me
  5. Emotional
  6. ILY2
  7. White Roses
  8. Babygirl [feat. Uffie]
  9. Drugs [feat. Abra]
  10. Lipgloss [feat. CupcakKe]

I love that the majority of artists that XCX has chosen to work with are alternative rap artists as I believe they bring a diverse sound to the tracks in which they are on.

The mix of rap and pop within the album is an excellent mix and the track list compliments each other so that, when played in full: the album sounds like a story of a girl who deals with a breakup, goes to the club and forgets about her past lover with a mix of sex and drugs.

I honestly cannot pick a favourite track on this album and my critiques are non existent as she has catered to my every need with this album. However if I did have to list my favourite tracks from the album they would be (in no particular order):

  • Dreamer [feat. Starrah & RAYE]
  • 3AM (Pull Up) [feat. MØ]
  • Blame It On You
  • Emotional
  • White Roses
  • Drugs [feat. Abra]
  • Lipgloss [feat. CupcakKe]

Overall I will be giving this album a 5 out of 5 star rating as I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this album and have had it on repeat all morning.

Until next time: stay safe, be happy and keep on jamming!!




One thought on “Charli XCX – “Number 1 Angel” – REVIEW”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s