The Chainsmokers: “Memories…Do Not Open” – REVIEW

Good evening readers, welcome back to MikeyMix! For tonight’s late night blog post I will be reviewing ‘Memories…Do Not Open’, the debut studio album by electronic pop-duo The Chainsmokers. This is not my first post on material released by the duo so I thought it would make sense to review their new album.

If you’d like to see my previous reviews on The Chainsmokers then I will link them here: ‘Paris‘, ‘Something Just Like This‘ and ‘The One‘.

Ever since the pair announced the album shortly after their performance at the 2017 Brit Awards I have been so excited to hear it in full: although their music all sounds quite the same and is definitely made for a generic radio-friendly audience, I have enjoyed all of the tracks they have released thus far.

The track-list for the album is as follows:

  1. The One
  2. Break Up Every Night
  3. Bloodstream
  4. Don’t Say (feat. Emily Warren)
  5. Something Just Like This
  6. My Tape (feat. Emily Warren)
  7. It Won’t Kill Ya (feat. Louane)
  8. Paris
  9. Honest
  10. Wake Up Alone (feat. Jhené Aiko)
  11. Young
  12. Last Day Alive (feat. Florida Georgia Line)

Throughout the album the electronic, auto-tuned vocals provided by the duo themselves are prominent in several songs. However there are some moments that you can tell they’ve really tried to experiment with production style, a clear example would be the pop-punk/rock inspired second track ‘Break Up Every Night’.

In true Chainsmoker style, the duo have opted to collaborate with several underground (almost indie) pop artists: there is no doubt in my mind that these artists will receive “The Chainsmokers effect”: a phenomenon that has occurred lately that whomever appears on a Chainsmokers track immediately earns worldwide acclaim and promotion.

Overall: I did thoroughly enjoy this album and it will be added to my music list, it pains me to say but I don’t think the album will be a contender for any prestigious awards (such as the Grammy’s). This is solely because the competition is far too strong and this album is literally just “another Chainsmokers” project.

I’ll be giving this album a disappointing 2 out of 5 star rating because honestly I enjoyed it but I didn’t love it. I expected so much more from this album and I feel The Chainsmokers have fallen victim to their own fame as the end product didn’t live up to the hype.

The album ‘Memories…Do Not Open’ is available for purchase on iTunes and can be streamed on all music streaming platforms: Apple Music, Spotify and Tidal.

Until next time: stay safe, be happy and keep on jamming!!

-Mikey

HEADER IMAGE PROVIDED BY ‘CHUFF MEDIA’ (REGIONAL TOURING MUSIC PR COMPANY): IMAGE HAS BEEN PRE-APPROVED FOR USE BY THE PRESS, NO COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT INTENDED ALL RIGHTS RESERVED FOR THE RIGHTFUL OWNERS.

Leave a Reply

